Tuesday, January 24, 2012

A Bite’s Tale: A Furry Fable by Veronica Blade {Read Jan. 2012}

This was a great supernatural story with a fairy tale twist.  I actually wanted to read more.  The story is about a summer love that goes beyond summer. It’s about a prince falling in love with a not so ordinary girl.  Like most fairy tales there’s a ball, only this one includes vampires, werewolves, and warlocks. Cydney and Remy’s story has so many possibilities.  I would love to read more about them.  I loved the way the book was written and look forward to reading more of Veronica Blade’s work.  I also really loved the cover art for the book. I would defiantly recommend the book and give it 5 out of 5 stars.

Monday, January 23, 2012

*Compulsion Giveaway*

Enter to win an E-Book copy of Kymberlee Burks-Miller's hit Compulsion!

*Giveaway will end Friday, January 27th

>>ENTER HERE<< For your chance to win!!

Good Luck!!

Saturday, January 21, 2012

The Fearsome Beastie by Giles Paley-Phillips {Read in Jan. 2012}

*With help from my three year old son.

This book was very cute book written by Giles Paley-Phillips.  It is wonderfully written and illustrated.  I have had to read it to my son several times.  He loves the colors and pictures.  He really enjoys the rhyming.  I think it is a very courageous book for kids who have fears of monsters.  I think there is also a hidden message of not always trusting something just because of the way it looks.  On a children’s book level I give it 4 out of 5 stars.

Wolf House (Potter’s Story) by Tim O’Rourke {Read Jan. 2012}

Wolf House is number 4.5 in the Kiera Hudson series by Tim O’Rourke.  As with all of the other books in this series it was amazing.  It goes into a story from Potter’s past that actual gives insight into other things from the past.  Including how Murphy got his limp and how Potter met Murphy and Luke.  It also goes deeper into things that happened in Vampire Breed.  Like the others this book was full of suspense from beginning to end. I give the book 5 out of 5 stars.  I defiantly recommend it.  I am anxiously waiting for Feb. 13th when Vampire Hollows comes out.   

*As TimO’Rourke has posted on his Facebook page you can email Kiera at kierahudson91@aol.com and she will email you a surprise. I already got mine and am excited!

Friday, January 20, 2012

Vampire Breed by Tim O’Rourke {Read Jan. 2012}

Vampire Breed is the fourth book in the Kiera Hudson series by Tim O’Rourke.  I am completely addicted to this series.  After reading this book my reaction was “Ahhhhh!”  I am so ready to read Vampire Hallows (which will be out soon Feb. 2012).  With each book I think it is the best in the series.  The books are back to back with each other continuing right where the previous left off.   The book continues to be suspense filled from beginning to end.  I could not put it down.  Kiera learns more about herself and her role in the Vampyrus/Human battle.  She gets deeper involved with Potter, but still feels like she can’t trust anyone. You can’t help but feel like you are a part of the story, right in the middle of it.  I found myself feeling anxious and nervous right along with them. Thru the last two books I was certain I knew who was behind everything, but was shocked at the end, however I am still suspicious going into the next book.  Thank goodness I have Wolf House: Potters Story (#4.5) to hold me over, well at least for another day.  I highly recommend this book and give it 5 out of 5 stars!  I can see myself reading the series again in a few months.  A huge thank you to Tim O’Rourke for the series!

Thursday, January 19, 2012

Vampire Hunt by Tim O’Rourke {Read Jan. 2012}

Vampire Hunt is the third book in the Kiera Hudson series by Tim O’Rourke.  Obviously I loved this book.  I read it a day.  Kiera, along with Murphy, Potter, Luke, and Isidor, continue their search for Kayla.  The book is suspense filled and had me reading non-stop.  Kiera continues to learn more about herself and her changes.  I was glad that things with her and Potter were finally addressed.  I actually cried while reading this book.  I have gotten so connected with the characters and the way the books are written you are right in the middle of things.  There are even more twist in the story line that catch you off guard.  I cannot wait to read Vampire Breed!  Defiantly recommend this book and the series.  I give it 5 out of 5 stars!

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Vampire Wake by Tim O’Rourke {Read Jan. 2012}

Vampire Wake is the second book in the Kiera Hudson series by Tim O’Rourke.  I wasn’t sure if it was possible for the second book to be as good as the first.  I was wrong.  In the second book Kiera thinks she is getting a break away from her worries and problems only to find out she is put in the middle of an even worse situation than before.  Kiera finds out more about the Vampyrus and in turn more about herself and her gifts.  I loved this book.  It was suspenseful from beginning to end.  I often had to force myself to put it down and get other things done.  I cannot wait to start reading Vampire Hunt.  I would defiantly recommend the book.  I give it 5 out of 5 stars.

Monday, January 16, 2012

The Seventh Sister by Z.L. Arkadie {Read in Jan. 2012}

Contributor: Gayle

This is the second book in the Parched Series.  The Seventh Sister is about a high school student who just doesn't fit in.  I know, I know...it sounds cliche because it seems like our heroes and heroines never fit in, but this time as you follow Zillael on her road to self discovery, you are invested in her and the characters around her.  The book offers a little mystery, some thrills and a touch of romance all at the right amount.  The cliffhanger at the end has you going straight to look for book #3.  It's a light read for a rainy day but I wouldn't put it on my "go-to" shelf.  I give the book 3 out of 5 stars.

Sunday, January 15, 2012

Tim O'Rourke Giveaway

And the Winner is...............................................


You have won and E-Book copy of Vampire Shift, Vampire Wake, Vampire Hunt & Wolf House of Tim O'Rourke's Kiera Hudson Series!

I will be contacting you via email &/or facebook shortly. Congratulations!!! 

Saturday, January 14, 2012

Night World No. 1 by L.J. Smith {Read Jan. 2012}

Contributor: Bobbie
Night World Series No. 1 Stories: Secret Vampire; Daughters of Darkness; Spellbinder 

A book about a secret society of vampires, witches, werewolves and shape shifters that tantalizes your sense of adventure and leaves you with an overall feeling that all is right in the world thanks to the strength of love? Yep.  The first of the Night World Series by L.J. Smith was exciting and fresh.  The stories are entertaining individually yet cunningly tied together.  You find yourself yearning to read more and see where things go for these characters.  

Rate: 4 out of 5 stars! Highly recommended!

Explore the series HERE!

Friday, January 13, 2012

Vampire Shift by Tim O’Rourke {Read Jan. 2012}

Vampire shift is the first book in the Kiera Hudson series by Tim O’Rourke.  
I was pleasantly surprised with the book and cannot wait to start Vampire Wake (#2 in the series).  The book follows Kiera Hudson, a new police graduate, as she starts her first assignment at a post.  She is sent to the secluded town The Ragged Cove.  She accepts the assignment originally because she was drawn by the thrill of real action because of a serial killer that has plagued the area.  She quickly realizes what a dangerous situation she has really put herself into. She is a great detective/constable and really knows her stuff however what she learns as she uses her “gift” and digs deeper changes her life forever.  She doesn’t back down and really holds her own.  
I loved the way it was written; you really get a feel of being in the moment and there with her.  I loved the different twist on vampires; it’s not just the typical blood sucking horror creatures or the romantic mind manipulators.  There were many surprises while reading.  Just when I thought I had followed clues and figured out things there would be a twist that blindsided me.  I am anxious to start the next book and see where things go for Kiera.  I would defiantly recommend the book.  I give it 5 out of 5 stars.

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Giveaway Ends Sunday, January 15th!

The Winner will get 4 E-Books from the talented Tim O'Rourke's amazing Kiera Hudson Series.

>>ENTER HERE<< for your chance to win these E-Books: Vampire Shift, Vampire Wake, Vampire Hunt & Wolf House.

***Giveaway has ended.  Winner was Gayle Morell!! 

Dreams both Real and Strange II by K.W. McCabe {Read on Jan. 10, 2012}

The Stories:
The first short story is the continuance of Choices, I really liked how it was continued and thought the twist was great.  I love stories that end well but never end the way you think they are going to.  I also liked the underlying theme, well what I got from it, that just because you made a bad choice does not always mean you’re stuck with that choice.  Also a great twist with selflessness. 
The second short story is Siren.  This one I thought was too short.  I liked the twist with the siren as a male.  I thought the story could have been longer.  I loved the way it was written and the details put into the writing. 
The third short story is Muse.  I thought it was a great glimpse into the mind of a writer.  It shows some of the emotions that are behind the words that are read.
The fourth short story is Mourning.  This story was also in Dreams Both Real and Strange but from the father’s point of view.  After thinking about the point of the father this point of the son’s really makes me sad.  To know that the two should have spoken up and really talked to each other and all the things they missed out on.  This story I think hit home with me more on a personal level.  I enjoyed seeing an addition to the original story.
The fifth short story is Escape.  I thought this short story was a great fantasy/escape reality story.
The sixth short story is the continuance of Wraith.  Of the first book this story was my favorite.  I was excited to get to it.  This was my favorite story in this book as well as the first.  I wanted to keep reading.  I want to know what happens to Anne and Wraith.  I could see this story being a book that I would defiantly read.
A bonus seventh short story is Fairy Foibles.  I thought this was a great twist on a classic and found it hilarious.  It was a good added bonus is a great book of short stories. I could even see more stories with twists on other classics.
I would defiantly recommend this book.  I give the entire book 4 out of 5 stars. 
I will be keeping an eye out for other works from K.W. McCabe.  

Monday, January 9, 2012

Dreams Both Real and Strange by K.W. McCabe {Read on Jan. 9, 2012}

This is an anthology of short stories of dark tales, fantasy and horror.

The Stories:

The first short story in is Choices, which I really liked.  I thought it was a great start to a book.  I really wanted more.  I immediately had tons of questions and thoughts about where the story could lead.  Defiantly want to read more. 

The second short story is Rebirthed.  The first time I read it I was actually a little confused, I had to read it again quickly.  I thought it was great.  The author did a wonderful job with encouraging the reader to really feel the emotions of the story.

The third short story is The Lake.  I thought it was a good “scary” story.  I think there is defiantly potential for it to have been a book, with more details.  I enjoyed it. 

The fourth short story is Mourning.  This was a very tough and sorrowful way to think about ones last days or hours.  It’s tough thinking about regrets at the end.  This story can serve as a reminder to everyone that they should cherish what they have and be grateful rather than regretful. 

The fifth short story is Wraith.  This was my favorite out of the book.  I began reading it knowing it was going to be a “to be continued”, but was sucked right in.  I look forward to reading the next book to see what happens with Anne, her mother Lena, and Wraith.

I would defiantly recommend this book.  It has great short stories that give you a range of emotions.  I give the entire book 4 out of 5 stars. 
**I will be reading Dreams Both Real and Strange II next so fingers crossed they are continued there.  

Destined (House of Night Book #9) by P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast {Read in Jan. 2012}

*Spoiler Alert*

Destined (#9 in the House of Night Series) picks right up where Awakened ended.  Zoey wakes up from a dream with the knowledge that her mother has died.  She is comforted to know that Nyx has welcomed her into the Otherworld.  Zoey, and her group think it is best for them to have their depot be a second House of Night so that their group stays together and the red fledglings are safe underground.  Erik gets hit with the urges for his first track and marks a new fledgling.  He realizes immediately that something is wrong.  The fledglings mark is red, and while she was blind before, after being marked she can see.  The new fledgling Shaylin has a special gift from Nyx. 
Rephaim struggles with his own gift from Nyx and his longing for the connection with his father, Kalona.  Aurox, Neferet’s “gift”, has his own struggles with whom/what he is and his place in the battle of good vs. evil.  There are many changes and struggles with several of the characters.  Thanatos arrives at the Tulsa House of Night to get a handle on the situations going on to report to The High Council.  Thanatos eventually aids Zoey to discover the circumstances of her mother’s death.  Thanatos also sees Neferet for what she truly is.  

I thought the book started out a little slow, but that could also be because I went straight from ending one series and jumped back into The House of Night.  Once I was able to take myself back there it picked up.  I loved the way it was written as usual and love the changes in the characters.  I also like the fact that there were more details about Lenobia and look forward to reading her book.  The book left many things open, which I look forward to reading in the upcoming books.  I give the book 4 out of 5 stars.